Week 34

Thought I’d give a quick update as I still haven’t finished my whitening!

I was told the two syringes of gel would last me for about two weeks, but it’s going to be more like two months! I can only manage to use it for one night before I need one or two nights off, otherwise my teeth get too painful with the sensitivity.

I’m avoiding tea completely, but I am drinking coke and eating coloured foods and just ensuring I swill water around my mouth at the same time and brush or use mouthwash as soon as I can afterwards.

I knew I would be eating curry at the weekend, so I stopped using the gel four nights beforehand to minimise the risk of the colour impacting my teeth.

I’ve been researching how long the whitening will last, which will be anywhere from three months to three years from what I can tell (depending on how much red wine, tea and coffee you drink, whether you smoke, and how well you look after your teeth in general).

I also wanted to know how much it would cost to buy more gel, and was quite surprised to find how cheap it is if you’ve already got the trays. Philips Zoom seems to be the best brand, and that would be under £60 for a course similar to what I’m doing now. In fact, I’m now convinced that my gel is actually Philips Zoom rebranded as Cfast, because my retainer case has the Zoom logo on the front. I’m guessing that when people spend hundreds on whitening, it’s due to the tray manufacturing process.

I’m pleased that I can use my trays forever and just spend £60 or less when I eventually want a top-up.

Leave a comment